Adventures in Granola

As promised, here are the results of my granola expierement….

Fan-freaking-tastic. It was tasty, crunchy and cheap. About 8 cups of granola for approximately $5. I also have the assurance of know exactly what went into the granola, and how much went in. That just always makes me feel better about what I am eating.

My recipe is a modified version of what can be found on the NYT Bitten Blog. I made two kinds, one for me and one for my fiance. The recipes for both are below. One thing I found very interesting was that while the maple syrup had a more distinct flavor, the honey made the granola clump a little better. So depending on what your preference is, that may help you decide which sweetener to use. Do note though, that none of this granola really clumps too well due to lack of added oils.

Cinnamon Apple Maple
3 cups of rolled oats
1 Apple
1/2 cup maple syrup
Dash of salt
Cinnamon to taste
Ginger to taste
Vanilla to taste

Honey Pecan Almond Berry

Honey Pecan Almond Berry

Honey Pecan Almond Berry
3 cups of rolled oats
1/2 cup pecans
1/2 cup almonds
1/2 cup honey
1/2 cup mixed dried berries
Dash of salt
Cinnamon to taste
Ginger to taste
Vanilla to taste

Bake either mixture on a baking sheet covered in parchment paper at 350 degrees for 30 minutes. Mix it every 5-10 minutes.

Leave a Reply

