Goal #1: Eat Less Processed Food

This is going to be the first in a weekly segment called “Goals.” (Creative arn’t I?) Basically, every week I’m going to set a tiny baby step goal towards living a more “real” lifestyle. These will be the little moral victories that add up throughout the course of my journey. The first goal is to eat less overly processed food. Now, I’m not going to lie and say I’m going to stop eating all processed foods. To me, processed food is going to be defined as “something that has several ingredients in it that I cannot pronounce.” So, there will be alot of processed foods I will still eat. For example, my favorite cereal Kashi Honey Sunshine (follow the link for a free box) is A-OK. However, CoCo Puffs are out.

Now, how do processed foods help me live a less technologicaly dependent life? Well, it doesn’t really. But, overly processed foods tend to either A) lack flavor, or B) be overly sweet or salty (to make up for lack of flavor). Eating “real” foods is like HDTV for your taste buds. Plus, as I go along in this journey, I’m finding its not really about using less technology (although that is a major part) its about enjoying the important things in life and living a healthier, more active lifestyle.

To work towards this goal (and to save some money) I tried making home-made granola this weekend. Stay tuned for the results!

Leave a Reply

